Giorgio

Giorgio Maggi is one of Switzerland’s most promising young talents. He has been stepping on the gas in the sports car sector since 2015, and with great success. In his very first race in the Asian Le Mans series, he achieved a win in class, took the lead in the standings and went on to wrap up the championship title in the CN category for the 2015/16 season.

The next logical step for the Swiss driver was to contest the LMP3 class of the European Le Mans Series with Race Performance which he did in 2016. Giorgio’s consistent performance was again impressive, earning him another cockpit in the Asian Le Mans series, but in the LMP2 category this time, where his team, Race Performance are reigning champions.

Giorgio’s strengths are his ability in the wet and his fast and precise handling on the racetrack. Thanks to his interest in technical matters and the knowledge he has acquired, he is a great aid to his mechanics and engineers, who can always rely on his feedback.

Sport is also an important part of his private life. He keeps himself physically fit with tennis, skiing, canoeing and cycling so that he can always be at peak fitness for motor races.

Name: Giorgio Romeo Maggi
Date of birth: 18.12.1997 / Luzern (CH)
Residence: Hergiswil
Nationality: Switzerland
Height: 174 cm
Language skills: German, English, French, Italian
Hobbies: motorsport, canoe, skiing, mountain biking, downhill, fitness
Favourite track: Spa-Francorchamps

Giorgio

Giorgio Maggi gehört zu den hoffnungsvollsten Nachwuchstalenten der Schweiz. Seit 2015 gibt der Luzerner im Sportwagen-Bereich Gas – mit durchschlagendem Erfolg. Bereits bei seinem Debüt-Rennen in der Asian Le Mans Series erzielte er den Klassensieg, übernahm die Tabellen-Führung und feierte am Saisonende 2015/16 die Meisterschaft in der CN-Kategorie.

Als logische Konsequenz ging der Schweizer im Jahr 2016 mit Race Performance in der LMP3-Klasse der European Le Mans Series an den Start. Mit konstanten Leistungen empfahl sich Giorgio erneut für einen Einsatz in der Asian Le Mans Series – diesmal in der LMP2-Kategorie, wo sein Team Race Performance als amtierender Meister antritt.

Giorgios Stärken sind das Fahren bei regnerischen Bedingungen sowie die schnelle und präzise Umsetzung auf der Rennstrecke. Durch sein technisches Interesse und die erworbenen Kenntnisse ist er eine große Stütze für seine Mechaniker und Ingenieure, die sich stets auf sein Feedback verlassen können.

Auch privat ist Sport ein wichtiger Teil seines Lebens. Mit Tennis, Skilaufen, Kanu- oder Fahrradfahren hält er sich physisch auf Spitzen-Niveau, um stets topfit für seine Renneinsätze zu sein.